1. Addresses

Peter COLEMAN was educated at North Sydney Boys High School and the Universities of Sydney and London. After a period in journalism, including as editor of The Bulletin, he was elected in 1968 to the New South Wales Legislative Assembly, where he served until 1979 as Minister for Revenue, Chief Secretary and Leader of the Opposition. In 1975 he chaired the Select Committee on the Appointment of Judges to the High Court of Australia. After a period (197981) as Administrator of Norfolk Island, he became the Liberal Member for Wentworth in the Commonwealth Parliament (198187). He was editor of Quadrant for 20 years and has published several books, including The Liberal Conspiracy, a study of the role of the intellectuals in the Cold War, and Memoirs of a Slow Learner.

Sir David SMITH, KVCO, AO, was educated at Scotch College, Melbourne and at Melbourne University and the Australian National University. After entering the Commonwealth Public Service in 1954, he became in 1973 Official Secretary to the then Governor-General of Australia (Sir Paul Hasluck). After having served five successive Governors-General in that capacity, he retired in 1990, being personally knighted by The Queen. He lives in Canberra, where he is now very active in both scouting and in musical activities.


2. Conference Contributors

Philip AYRES was educated at Adelaide Boys High School and at the University of Adelaide (BA, 1965; Ph.D, 1972) and is currently Associate Professor of English Literature at Monash University. In addition to numerous books and scholarly articles on English literary history, he is the author of Malcolm Fraser: A Biography (1987). He has published first-hand accounts of Khomeini's Iran and of the mujahedeen side of the war in Afghanistan, as well as contributing numerous articles to various journals. In 1989 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (London), and in 1993 was Visiting Professor at Vassar College in New York State.

The Rt. Hon. Sir Garfield BARWICK, AK, GCMG was educated at Fort Street High School, Sydney and the University of Sydney (BA, LLB). He was admitted to the New South Wales Bar in 1927 and became King's Counsel in 1941. After a long and distinguished career at the Bar, he entered the federal Parliament in 1958 as Liberal Member for Parramatta, serving as Attorney-General (1958-62) and Minister for External Affairs (1961-64) before being appointed Chief Justice of the High Court in 1964 and serving in that position until his retirement in 1981.

Professor Michael COPER was educated at Cranbrook and at St. Paul's College, Sydney University (BA,LLB(Hons) 1970). During 19711988 he held various positions within the University of New South Wales, becoming associate Professor of Law. During 198890 he was a member of the Inter-State Commission, and during 19911994 Director of Government Advising with Sly and Weigall. He is the author of numerous books and articles on the Australian Constitution, including Encounters with the Australian Constitution (1988). He is now Professor of Constitutional Law at the Australian National University, Canberra.

The Rt. Hon. Sir Harry GIBBS, GCMG, AC, KBE, was educated at Ipswich Grammar School and Emmanuel College at the University of Queensland, and was admitted to the Queensland Bar in 1939. After serving in the A.M.F. (193942), and the A.I.F. (194245), he became a Queen's Counsel in 1957, and was appointed, successively, a Judge of the Queensland Supreme Court (196167), a Judge of the Federal Court of Bankruptcy (196770), a Justice of the High Court of Australia (19701981) and Chief Justice of the High Court (19811987). Since 1987 he has been Chairman of the Review into Commonwealth Criminal Law and, since 1990, Chairman of the Australian Tax Research Foundation. In 1992, he became the founding President of The Samuel Griffith Society.

John HIRST was educated at Unley High School and the University of Adelaide. After tutoring in Economic History at that University, he moved to La Trobe University in 1968, where he is now a Reader in History. He is the author of several books, including Convict Society and its Enemies and The Strange Birth of Colonial Democracy, and numerous articles. He is the Victorian convenor of the Australian Republican Movement, and served in 199394 as a member of the Prime Minister's Republic Advisory Committee (the so-called Turnbull Committee).

Dr Colin HOWARD was educated at Prince Henry's Grammar School, Worcestershire, and at the University of London and Melbourne University. He taught in the Law Faculties at the University of Queensland (1958 60) and Adelaide University (196064) before becoming Hearn Professor of Law at Melbourne University for 25 years (196590). He was awarded his Ph.D. from Adelaide University in 1962 and his Doctorate of Laws from Melbourne University in 1972. He is now a practising member of the Victorian Bar, being perhaps best known for his constitutional expertise, but specialising also in commercial and administrative law, and has published a number of texts for both lawyers and laymen. During 197376 he was General Counsel to the Commonwealth Attorney-General; he is also a long-established commentator on public affairs.

Bruce KNOX was educated at C.E.G.S., Brisbane, and at the Universities of Queensland and Oxford (Magdalen College), where he was awarded the Beit Prize in 1961. After holding a number of academic teaching and research positions in Australia and overseas, he is currently a Senior Lecturer in History at Monash University. In 1968 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (London). He is currently a member of the Victorian Council of Australians for Constitutional Monarchy.

Ted MACK, MHR was educated at Sydney Boys High School and the University of New South Wales (B.Arch.). After working for various architectural firms in Sydney and London, he joined the NSW Public Works Department (196170), subsequently moving to the NSW Housing Commission (197274) as Assistant Chief Architect. He was an Alderman of the North Sydney Council (197488), including eight years as Mayor (19801988). In 1981 he was elected to the NSW Legislative Assembly as the Independent Member for North Shore, resigning that seat in 1988. From 1990 to date he has been the Independent Member for North Sydney in the federal Parliament, and has recently announced his intention to retire at the next election.

John STONE was educated at Perth Modern School, the University of Western Australia and then, as a Rhodes Scholar, at New College, Oxford. He joined the Australian Treasury in 1954, and over a Treasury career of 30 years served in a number of posts at home and abroad, including as Australia's Executive Director in both the I.M.F. and the World Bank in Washington, D.C. In 1979 he became Secretary to the Treasury, resigning from that post and from the Commonwealth Public Service in 1984. Since that time he has been, at one time and another, a Professor at Monash University, a newspaper columnist, a company director, a Senator for Queensland and Leader of the National Party in the Senate and Shadow Minister for Finance. He is currently Senior Fellow at the Institute of Public Affairs.

Professor George WINTERTON was educated at Hale School and the University of Western Australia (LL.B. (Hons) and LL.M.), and gained his Doctorate in law from Columbia University. He is currently Professor of Law within the University of NSW. He has published widely on constitutional issues in Australia, England and the USA, including Parliament, the Executive and the Governor-General and Monarchy to Republic: Australian Republican Government. He was a member of the Executive Government Advisory Committee of the Constitutional Commission (198687), and of the Republic Advisory Committee (the Turnbull Committee) in 1993.